top of page

All children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum.

It is a statutory document, developed for professionals to support young children in learning.

At Happy Kid's Face, we get to know our children extremely well, taking time to observe them at play and finding out about their interests.  We are then able to carefully plan for their next steps using their interests

to build motivation and excitement.


The Early Years Foundation Stage

At Happy Kid's Face Nursery we follow the
Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS). The seven areas of learning form the basis of our teaching upon which we plan enriched, exciting activities to encourage a thirst for learning.  The three ‘Prime Areas’ are particularly crucial for stimulating children’s curiosity, enthusiasm, and potential for learning. The three ‘Prime Areas’ crucial for stimulating children’s curiosity, enthusiasm, and potential for learning are; Communication and Language; Physical Development; and Personal, Social, and Emotional Development.


Outdoor Learning

Learning outside is embedded in the Early Years Foundation Stage and has many benefits for the development of young children.  As adults, many of us remember the freedom of outside play; the space to run, jump and move; the perfect place to shout and be noisy; and small dens to hide in with friends. At Happy Kid’s Face, we offer access to all areas of learning in a very spacious, beautiful design garden. Children thrive in a more physical environment as they enjoy learning through play

•Communication and language development involve giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves, and speak and listen in a range of situations

•Physical development involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity and to make healthy choices in relation to food

•Personal, social, and emotional development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups, and to have confidence in their own abilities

•Literacy development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their interest

•Mathematics involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces, and measure

•Understanding the world involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology, and the environment

•Expressive arts and design involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology


bottom of page